Diary of a Graduate | 30th April 2012

My Graduate Experience of Job Hunting…

30th April 2012

Summary: Previously having applied to various entry level positions in Marketing, Media, HR, Advertising etc, I thought lets do something spontaneous today let me go up central and check out some advertising agencies. After quick research on Google, I wrote down the addresses of some advertising agencies. I wore my casual smart jeans, blazer and some gorgeous dark blue wedge heels (which unfortunately I had to later change to flats that I had taken with me because they were a little generous in size). I then jumped on the train to Farringdon. I choose Farringdon because my research showed many advertising companies located there. After reaching there I came across some great companies which do incredible work, some of which include Save the Children head office, AKQA a digital advertising company, IPG Media brands and some smaller advertising agencies. However, there was a big catch; I could not speak to the head of media or HR because the receptionists would tell me “sorry only people with appointments are allowed up” or “we have been requested not to let people enquiring about jobs up.” However, there was one helpful receptionist who could not let me up due to strict orders, yet she gave me a personal email address of a lady who deals with HR for media companies and encouraged me to get in touch with her. She wrote down details for me, which I shall later trace up.

Outcome: I learnt not to go out like a headless chicken asking for vacancies because you are unlikely to be taken seriously. However, I believe the trick is to research one company thoroughly, know what experience you want from that organisation, and most importantly make sure you got a contact name of the person you want to speak to. Even better call them and tell them you researched the company and your interested in xyz ask them for work experience this way at least you can try get your foot in the door.

Action: Previous research attracted me to one particular company based near Holborn (which luckily I did not get time to approach like a headless chicken). My aim is to research the company well. I called them today and the kind receptionist put me through to HR, however no one in the HR team answered my call and it ended up going to voicemail, so I hanged up. I shall call them again, with a better plan of approach and if possible try and arrange an appointment to meet them. Indeed, this company has an online application form for graduates. However, it is extremely competitive and I need to differentiate myself from other candidates by approaching the company in a different way.

By iMeeta © 2012

Leave a comment